Explanation of Reiki and Energy

ChakrasHave you ever walked into a room after a fight has taken place, or an argument has ensued, and felt an “energy” in the air that something had just happened? This “energy” that cannot be seen with the human eye, or even touched by most with the human hand is an “energy” that makes up not only living beings, but all objects within our universe. Although we cannot see this energy does not mean that it does not exist. Just as the “energy” transmission signals that allow us to hear radio stations, or see television channels cannot be seen, they exist throughout our atmosphere. Our whole being is made up of energy- tiny particles, atoms, and molecules that emit life. That energy can either be free flowing, or stuck in certain points throughout our body.The ultimate life energy source, which is called Universal Life Energy, is the main foundation of Reiki. When this energy ceases to flow in a healthy way within our bodies, we begin to feel that something is not right with us. We may experience poor sleep, anxiety, body aches, fatigue, and even depression. When this occurs, the energy that makes up our being is no longer flowing, and is basically stagnant in various areas throughout our bodies, leading to “tension” or even a sense of bad health. This is where Reiki comes in and balances the flow of energy within our bodies, leading us to feel a renewed sense of self, and more vibrant health.

Reiki is an energy healing treatment that works holistically on the whole body, mind and spirit. Not a system of religious beliefs, Reiki is simply a relaxing treatment whereas natural healing vibrations are transmitted through the hands of a Reiki practitioner (acting as a conduit) to the body of the recipient. The purpose of a Reiki treatment is to relieve stress and pain, induce relaxation, release emotional blockages, accelerate natural healing, balance one’s vibrational energy, and support other medical treatments, including traditional therapies. A treatment feels like a wonderful glowing radiance that flows through and around your body. Today, Reiki is offered in more than 800 American Hospitals as a means to accelerate the healing process and to alleviate pain.

The energy that flows throughout our being is located in seven points along our spinal column, each known as a chakra. Chakras are our energy centers. They are the openings for life energy to flow into and out of our aura. Their function is to vitalize the physical body and to bring about the development of our self-consciousness. Each chakra governs a main organ or gland, which is then connected to other body parts that resonate the same frequency. Every organ, gland and body system is connected to a chakra and each chakra is connected to a color vibrational frequency. For example, the heart chakra governs the thymus gland and it is also in charge of the functioning of the heart organ, lungs, bronchia system, lymph glands, secondary circulatory system, immune system as well as the arm and hands. The heart chakra resonates to the color green.

It is important to realize that Reiki is not a substitute for Medical Treatment or Diagnosis. If you suffer from any symptom it is urged that you visit your family Physician or get medical treatment. I do not diagnose any symptom, nor offer any professional advice.

Chakra One Chakra One (Root)
Earth, Physical identity, oriented to self-preservation

Located at the base of the spine, this chakra forms our foundation. It represents the element earth, and is therefore related to our survival instincts, and to our sense of grounding and connection to our bodies and the physical plane. Ideally, this chakra brings us health, prosperity, security, and dynamic presence.

Chakra Two Chakra Two (Sacral)
Water, Emotional identity, oriented to self-gratification

The second chakra, located in the abdomen, lower back, and sexual organs, is related to the element water, and to emotions and sexuality. It connects us to others through feeling, desire, sensation, and movement. Ideally this chakra brings us fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment, and the ability to accept change.

Chakra Three Chakra Three (Solar Plexus)
Fire, Ego identity, oriented to self-definition

This chakra is known as the power chakra, located in the solar plexus. It rules our personal power, will, and autonomy, as well as our metabolism. When healthy, this chakra brings us energy, effectiveness, spontaneity, and non-dominating power.

Chakra Four Chakra Four (Heart)
Air, Social identity, oriented to self-acceptance

This chakra is called the heart chakra and is the middle chakra in a system of seven. It is related to love and is the integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity. A healthy fourth chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace and centeredness.

Chakra Five Chakra Five (Throat)
Sound, Creative identity, oriented to self-expression

This is the chakra located in the throat and is thus related to communication and creativity. Here we experience the world symbolically through vibration, such as the vibration of sound representing language.

Chakra Six Chakra Six (Brow or Third Eye)
Light, Archetypal identity, oriented to self-reflection

This chakra is known as the brow chakra or third eye center. It is related to the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively. As such it opens our psychic faculties and our understanding of archetypal levels. When healthy it allows us to see clearly, in effect, letting us “see the big picture.”

Chakra Seven Chakra Seven (Crown)
Thought, Universal identity, oriented to self-knowledge

This is the crown chakra that relates to consciousness as pure awareness. It is our connection to the greater world beyond, to a timeless, spaceless place of all-knowing. When developed, this chakra brings us knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection, and bliss.